How to load for home defense

Tactical, combat, military, law enforcement and home defense use of a Remington 870 shotgun.
foxhunter
New Shotgunner

How to load for home defense

Post by foxhunter » Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:15 pm

I’m still new to my 870 mariner, how do you guys load it for home defense
Do you load one in the pipe with safety on, or just load the tube mag. with the safety on??
You can tell I’m still new but I’m starting to like it. I got 4 or 5 upgrades for it and just took them off I like it kiss. better

Thanks

MStarmer
Super Shotgunner

Re: How to load for home defense

Post by MStarmer » Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:10 am

You will have to decide what works for you and your storage / accessibility situation. With that said the general consensus is "Cruiser Ready" or "Cruiser Safe". The MagPul shotgun video does a pretty good explanation of the different modes, but basically it's

Full magazine tube, empty chamber, hammer cocked and safety ON. This locks the slide so that it does not try to load a round if someone grabs it and pushes the slide back.

Full magazine tube, empty chamber, hammer down and safety OFF. This keeps the gun in a state where you just rack it and it's ready to fire, no buttons to push or safety to disengage.

Full magazine, chambered round, hammer cocked and safety ON. Obviously just disengage the safety and FIRE.

I used to keep mine chamber empty, hammer down and safety off but the slide so easily moves that I feel a whole lot more comfortable with it locked. So full tube, empty chamber, hammer cocked and safety on. That way it's (2) distinct operations to fire.

Whatever you decide just make sure you are consistent.

DaveC
Addict Shotgunner

Post by DaveC » Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:33 am

I do "cruiser ready" myself:

Shotgun unloaded, checked, checked again, then the hammer is dropped on an empty chamber. Then four buckshot shells get loaded into the tube magazine. That's it.