Help: Found unidentified spring in chamber

Remington 870 Repair and Gunsmithing.
bill28465

Help: Found unidentified spring in chamber

Post by bill28465 » Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:27 pm

I am a newb to this site so I cannot use PM feature.
I bought a home defense 870 Express Magnum for my wife in the early nineties.
She shot it a few times but it normally sits loaded in a corner of our closet.
The serial number is 'AnnnnnnM' which I believe suggests that it was manufactured in March 1992.
Recently, I got it out and was attempting to clear ammo and ran into an issue which involved finding a 9/16 inch long by 3/8 inch diameter spring in the chamber. It does not appear to be the sear spring. Please see the embedded pictures. I want to ensure that the gun is safe to fire.
All comments are appreciated.

NYDCPA: 09-11-01
Never Forget !

MStarmer
Super Shotgunner

Re: Help: Found unidentified spring in chamber

Post by MStarmer » Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:44 pm

Hard to tell in the pic but it doesn't look like it came from the gun. If the gun has been sitting in a corner it's feasible that the spring dropped into the barrel. It's not feasible for a spring from the action or trigger group to make it into the chamber. Re-assemble and test for function. If you gun is going to sit in the closet for long periods (or at all for that matter) I would strongly consider something covering the muzzle.

bill28465

Post by bill28465 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:58 am

MStarmer wrote:Hard to tell in the pic but it doesn't look like it came from the gun. If the gun has been sitting in a corner it's feasible that the spring dropped into the barrel. It's not feasible for a spring from the action or trigger group to make it into the chamber. Re-assemble and test for function. If you gun is going to sit in the closet for long periods (or at all for that matter) I would strongly consider something covering the muzzle.
Thanks for the feedback. The gun appears to cycle correctly and dry fires.