Recommend me a 870 Model

Tactical, combat, military, law enforcement and home defense use of a Remington 870 shotgun.
Hunters21w
Enthusiast Shotgunner

Recommend me a 870 Model

Post by Hunters21w » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:56 pm

Hey guys just joined this forum, I am new to Shotguns. I have a glock 19 that I've been shooting for awhile but I would like to build a shotgun. It's main purposes will be Home Defense/Range. Once a year I would like to take it to hunt whitetail deer.

So far the 870 Express 7rd Synthetic 18" barrel seems like the way to go. However, I cannot find any locally so I'm opening up my options to a Wingmaster.

These are the upgrades I would like to do:

upgrade the magazine spring to Nordic components.
Upgrade sear spring
Upgrade carrier latch spring to carrier dog
Magpul sga stock
Magpul Moe forend
Mag extension +2 Wilson Combat
Replace extractor to non-mim extractor
Mesa tactical 6 shell side saddle

All I can think of right now. It's similar to the police model 870. I read the Wingmaster has some of these upgrades so not all are necessary. However the express needs all of these. Which would you recommend me?

Let me know what you guys think, thanks!
-Matt

ponycarman
Senior Shotgunner

Re: Recommend me a 870 Model

Post by ponycarman » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:34 pm

Express models sometimes need fine tuning. Mine has been fine but it was already a few years old already when I bought it. I intentionally bought a used one to minimize problems. I figured if it had issues it would have already been broken in or sent back to the factory to be fixed.

The wingmasters are excellent. Very nice shotguns. I grabbed an older one for $150 and I'm very happy with it. I added a shorter barrel and extended mag.

Either is a good choice. If it were me I would snag a wingmaster if you can find one at a good price. I have fun modifying my firearms so that doesn't bother me :)

Sent from my LS670 using Tapatalk

Hunters21w
Enthusiast Shotgunner