Info and suggestions needed for my build

Tactical, combat, military, law enforcement and home defense use of a Remington 870 shotgun.
roamingaz
New Shotgunner

Info and suggestions needed for my build

Post by roamingaz » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:15 am

I found this forum looking for ideas for my shotgun build I am starting and I have to say this is becoming one of my favorite forums, very helpful post in here. I have owned several nice shotguns but this is my first time putting one together myself. This shotgun will serve as a home and zombie defense Jeep gun and trying to keep it from becoming a crap magnet.
So to start I ordered a 870 Tactical 81191 pistol grip from Buds and it will be here Thursday. http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/prod ... 8.5+CYL+PGI went with this model because originaly I wanted to get the tax stamp for AOW and make a super shorty but started looking around at other builds and decided to go a different direction and planning on putting a magpul stock and upgrade a few things then have it cerakoted.
Since I don't actually have the gun yet I have a few questions that will help me start ordering parts.

Is there any legal issue putting a stock on a shotgun that left the factory with only a pistol grip? I am pretty sure that once I install a stock I can not get a AOW stamp I would need a SBS but honestly don't think it's worth the hassle, I am already waiting for my paperwork for a supressor.

I want to put a ghost ring sight and need to know if the receiver is already drilled or will I have to do it also what would you all suggest for a sight system. I am considering LPA, Scattergun, or Williams.

The description states this gun is 7+1 with 2 shot extension already installed. I have read the Remington extensions are good so no need to replace or worth the money to buy a Nordic? What about the length for a new spring and any suggestion for barrel clamp, I just don't like the look of the factory one.