Question on upgrades

Discuss all accessories and upgrades available for the Remington 870 shotgun: stocks, forends, barrels, chokes, magazine extensions, followers, safeties, sights etc.
KMBrown
New Shotgunner

Question on upgrades

Post by KMBrown » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:53 am

I'm new to shotguns and recently purchased my first one a Remington 870 Express Tactical Magpul. What I'm asking for is some advise on whether or not the follower needs to be upgraded (I've heard the factory ones jam) and also what type of side saddle to buy for it. As far as the side saddle goes I am left handed so the GG&G one is out because it is angled for a right handed user. This has the MOE forend so I beleive that a 6 round holder will fit on it since the forend does not cover up the receiver at all. I prefer to buy quality parts so if you have recomendations please don't go off of price.
Thank you for your advice and if you can please add links to the products that would be great, my local gun shops don't carry much so I will be looking to puchase online.

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Re: Question on upgrades

Post by Synchronizor » Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:14 am

You won't have issues with the follower jamming in that gun, since the Tactical Magpul model uses a one-piece magazine tube. The issue people have with the stock follower is more about its durability. It's a thin plastic, which isn't very impact-resistant.